God’s Holy Days and Feasts

We are commanded to observe certain weekly and annual Holy Days while at the same time abstaining from holidays of pagan origin (ie. Christmas, Easter, Valentines, Halloween, etc).  During these holy convocations we are to attend Church services and to refrain from secular labor, including school, college or university attendance. Instead we are to dedicate and devote ourselves to worship, spiritual study, prayer, fellowship with Church members, and physical rest. These weekly and annual Holy Days are:

Weekly Sabbath

The seventh-day weekly Sabbath from Friday sunset to Saturday sunset. The day symbolizes God’s resting on the seventh day, after having recreated the surface of the earth in six days, and the forthcoming Millennium which is also referred to as a Sabbath lasting for 1,000 years (Leviticus 23:3Exodus 20:8-11Hebrews 4:3-11).h


The Passover once a year in the evening by engaging in a footwashing service as an example of humility in accordance with Christ’s example, and partaking of the unleavened bread and wine, symbolizing physical and spiritual healing and forgiveness of sin. The entire service symbolizes a remembrance of Christ’s death (Leviticus 23:5Luke 22:14-20John 13:1-51 Corinthians 11:20-29).

The Days of Unleavened Bread

The Days of Unleavened Bread once a year by not partaking of any food prepared with leaven for a period of seven days following the Passover. The partaking of the unleavened bread symbolizes the commitment to live a sinless life (Leviticus 23:6-8Acts 20:61 Corinthians 5:7-8).


The Feast of Pentecost once a year. This day symbolizes the coming of God’s Holy Spirit for the purpose of converting those called by God at this time (Leviticus 23:15-1621Acts 2:1-420:161 Corinthians 16:8).

The Feast of Trumpets

The Feast of Trumpets once a year. This day symbolizes the soon coming return of Jesus Christ to this earth (Leviticus 23:24-251 Corinthians 15:521 Thessalonians 4:16), and our resurrection or change to immortality, to be born again into the Kingdom or Family of God (1 Corinthians 15:50-5442-491 Thessalonians 4:16-17John 3: 35-8).


The Day of Atonement once a year by refraining from partaking of any and all solid food or liquid for a period of 24 hours. This day symbolizes those called by God during this life, having received at-one-ment with God; those who can receive at-one-ment with God after Christ’s return; and the transfer of sin to Satan as the one who is ultimately responsible for all sin (Leviticus 16:1-34Leviticus 23:27-32Acts 27:9).

The Feast of Tabernacles

The Feast of Tabernacles once a year, for seven consecutive days, by attending one of the Church’s designated sites around the world. This period symbolizes the reign of Christ for 1,000 years, together with His saints made immortal, during which time Satan will be bound and the entire world will be living under the government of God (Leviticus 23:33-35Daniel 7:27John 7:2-810-14Revelation 20:4).

The Last Great Day

The Last Great Day which immediately follows the Feast of Tabernacles, once a year. This day symbolizes a 100-year period called the “Great White Throne Judgment,” during which all persons who have ever lived and who were never called by God for salvation during this life, will have their first opportunity to accept Christ as their Savior (Leviticus 23:36John 7:37Revelation 20:11-12). At the end of that period, there will be a judgment during which all people who have ever lived and who have refused to accept Christ as their Savior, will be finally condemned to eternal death and destroyed in Gehenna fire (Revelation 20:13-15).